Once a home in the Lusignan period (14th century), Lusignan House has been lovingly restored as a self-catering guesthouse, blending modern comfort and historic features to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay in the heart of the historic walled city of Famagusta.
Templar House is an elegantly-restored town house only minutes away from the main historic square of Famagusta. Cosy and fully equipped with all necessary facilities, this self-contained guesthouse is within walking distance of the major historic sights.
The apartment is newly renovated and presents you with luxurious experiences right next to the sea. It's located on the 9th floor of the 4 block apartment site and has a wonderful view of the sea, Karpasia, and the Famagusta Harbour.
Famagusta is one of the finest examples of mediaeval architecture in the Eastern Mediterranean. The old city walls, built by the Lusignans and fortified by the Venetians are a witness to the eventful history of Famagusta. As the richest port in Cyprus and one of the most wealthy of the Eastern Mediterranean, battles were fought over Famagusta by the Genoans and the Venetians until the siege and capture of the town by the Ottoman armada in 1571.
Admire the churches, monasteries and chapels, the 14th Century Gothic masterpiece St Nicholas' Cathedral, converted to a mosque after the Ottoman invaison in 1571 and now known as Lala Mustafa Paşa Mosque. Wander through the medieval streets and discover archways and doors, ramparts and rooftops, walk along the walls and explore towers, dungeons and citadels..
The Twin Churches : Templars and Hospitallers
Two small churches of similar width stand only 3 meters apart in the center of the city. Both are single-vessel naves terminated by semicircular apses and appear to date to the late 13th century. A shield on the south church associated with the knights of St. John identifies these churches as part of a Hospitaller complex. Enlart speculated that the south church was the original structure, possibly built by the Templars, who had possession of the island after Richard the Lionheart gave it to them. When the Hospitallers later took over the Templar's properties, they deemed the original church to be too small and, rather than adding onto it as the Nestorians had done in their church, the Hospitallers built a new one next to it.
A wonderful open air museum just waiting to be explored!